Woodcock?

Discussion in 'Small Game Hunting' started by FOWLER2671, Oct 9, 2019.

1. FOWLER2671

FOWLER2671 12 pointer

Sep 11, 2009
    Evicted from Aintry'
    I'm a beginner (Virgin sounded way too gay!) What indicators do you look for to know they should be showing up in our area?

My dogs are un trained labs. Could not find any scent for Woodcock so I will probably just tramp through possible spots hoping to flush one to shoot for them.

2. bondhu

bondhu 12 pointer

Jul 3, 2015
    Battle Run
    When season opens is usually always timed with migration. I don't see anything different this year.Weather like this will help. Bad thing about Ky woodcock is deer rifle season is when you need to be hunting them. Last year was a woodcock year for Ky. I don't think they left from 17. I trained on woodcock all summer. Was helping a buddy track a deer the first week of deer rifle. Spread out in a 100 yard wide thicket, between us we got 9 up.

FOWLER2671 likes this.
  3. Meatstick

Meatstick 12 pointer

Oct 25, 2013
    Washington County
    Always jump them in gun season around here.
    And there's no rhyme or reason as to where they're sitting in my experience. Nothing like a quail or grouse.
    These sumbitches just sit on a leaf on the ground and blow out

FOWLER2671, bondhu and 120+ like this.
  4. bgkyarcher

bgkyarcher 12 pointer

Aug 23, 2011
    BG
    We used to get them up when we were quail hunting fairly often. Seemed to be in damp, woody areas. Never shot one. Are they good to eat? I could have shot a bunch over the years, just never did.

FOWLER2671 likes this.
  5. HCDH66

HCDH66 6 pointer

Apr 10, 2019
    Hardin County
    I have shot a few over the years while either quail or rabbit hunting. Usually in damp, woody bottoms.

FOWLER2671 likes this.
  6. luvtohunt

luvtohunt 10 pointer

Sep 1, 2011
    Eubank, Ky