Will indiana overtake kentucky in deer hunting?

predator

12 pointer
Nov 23, 2006
Leitchfield, Ky.
This was brought to my attention today by an KDFWR employee who predicts that Indiana will soon overtake Kentucky in overall quality of deer hunting in the near future if things are not reversed in Kentucky.

http://www.in.gov/dnr/fishwild/files/fw-2008deerseasonsummary.pdf

Look at the detail of the report, the breakdowns and trends. I noticed they have a 1 buck rule, an expanded x-bow season and mirco-manage the anterless harvest by county.

Disclaimer: I've never hunted Indiana, so I have no first-and knowledge, again this was brought to my attention by a Dept employee who seems to think Kentucky should copy some of Indiana's practices. Thought I'd share.

QDM

Banned
Oct 15, 2009
I think they have always been better, they just have more people per acre than KY and that hurts them as far as refuge for the bucks to age.

huntr467

12 pointer
Feb 2, 2004
Marion Ky. Crittenden county
This was brought to my attention today by an KDFWR employee who predicts that Indiana will soon overtake Kentucky in overall quality of deer hunting in the near future if things are not reversed in Kentucky.
Just out of curiousity what is it exactly that needs to be "reversed"?
Ky manages counties by zoning, one buck rule, bonus antlerless tag program, similar seasons. Looks to be pretty close to the same to me. I could not imagine what they meant by reversing. I have hunted in In. and there are some awsome areas just as there is in Ky.