Topo map help to new user

Discussion in 'Deer Hunting' started by jshepherd, Nov 4, 2015.

1. jshepherd

jshepherd 6 pointer

Nov 3, 2015
    Breathitt
    Hey guys I'm a new user here on the site and This is the first year I've used topo maps, what does this topo map say this area has to offer, I was thinking about putting a stand right in the center of this map if the scouting of this area pans out.

Attached Files:

2. jshepherd

jshepherd 6 pointer

Nov 3, 2015
    Breathitt
    Yeah I'm semi familiar with the area there are a lot of hills and very deep hollers, I was wondering if that was what a saddle looked like in the center of that map. I know there's a lot of deer in that area because there is sign, I just haven't made it a priority to scout that area. Looking for another hunting area just in case. Like I said I'm new to topo maps so I really don't know what I'm looking at just trying to learn, thanks for the help

3. Rheath

Rheath 8 pointer

Feb 18, 2010
    Owen County
    http://kygeonet.ky.gov/kdfwr/

It doesn't get much better than the above link. You can look at aerial and a number of topo layers. If you look at it like it is, it will be topo zooming to a certain point and then will switch to aerial. I toggle in and out with zoom to get familiar with lay of the land.

4. trust me

trust me Troubled Loner

Nov 27, 2004
    Jerkwater, KY
    I see a couple of high saddles or gaps but it looks like they only drop about 20 feet or so in elevation, nothing like a deep low gap that is often a deer highway. There are some high flats coming off of that knob that probably have traffic on them, or the benches below them.

5. 150PandY

150PandY BBBC Members

Sep 9, 2004
    Frankfort, KY, USA.
    I would hunt just above one of those saddles where you can also watch what looks to be a bench around the top of the mountain.

6. Recurve77

Recurve77 10 pointer

Aug 7, 2012