Shoulder problem

Discussion in 'Archery Equipment' started by kybuckbuster, Sep 9, 2015.

1. kybuckbuster

kybuckbuster 6 pointer

Jun 14, 2009
    Louisville, Kentucky
    Hey all,

Ive been lifting weights for the past ten years and I think my determination with that, coupled with being too proud, have finally cost me my shoulder. It's become pretty painful to do even mundane tasks and I may have to visit the dreaded doctor. I know he/she is going to say the dreaded "surgery" word. So, does anyone on here have documentation that allows them to use a crossbow during regular archery season? If so, what is needed and how easy was it to get? I'm not going to have a problem convincing the doc of a shoulder problem...unfortunately! Not even 30 yet....smh.

2. bgkyarcher

bgkyarcher 12 pointer

Aug 23, 2011
    BG
    I asked a similar question for my cousin Chase. I was told the form could be found on KDFWR website, and your doctor can give approval... Keep it with you while hunting. That's all there is to it. Hope your shoulder gets better. Have you had a deep cortisone shot yet? Worked wonders for me...

3. JDMiller

JDMiller 12 pointer

Jun 12, 2005
    " Between the Rivers "
    I tore some tendons in my arm several years ago and used a crossbow exemption for about 5 seasons. Glad it was an option at the time ... finally worked back to using a bow but still will pick up the crossbow when legal at times.

The methods exemption is relatively easy..... just print off the form on the link below. Take it to your doctor have him sign off on it.... then carry on your person afield with you license & permits.

There's nothing to file with KDF&WR, again just keep the signed form on you.

http://fw.ky.gov/Licenses/Documents/crossbowexemption.pdf

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. KYBH4Life

KYBH4Life Banned

Feb 13, 2011
    Shoulder injuries suck!

5. Lady Hunter

Lady Hunter 12 pointer

Jan 12, 2009