Night time coyote hunting

Discussion in 'Varmint Hunting' started by 93chromedaytona, Mar 9, 2019.

1. 93chromedaytona

93chromedaytona Spike

Nov 20, 2014
    I am new to the coyote game and curious on how some others approach night hunting. I am aware its shotgun (no slugs) only in KY. Just curious how you guys are doing it with success. Ex: go out as soon as its dark/midnight/4am? What calls your starting with? Once you determine a set is no good, how far away should your next set be? Is everyone setting up on field edges, or any luck in the woods at night? Also curious to see some shotgun setups. I am looking into a red light for my shotgun. I know you can spend $50 on an amazon light (that gets good reviews) or $400 on a coyote light. I don't need to see eyes at 500yrds.

2. JR in KY

JR in KY 12 pointer

Jan 25, 2006
    The Occupied South
    It is not impossible to Legally kill Coyotes at night.
    Just....Almost impossible.

Until Night Vision scopes mounted on a center fire rifle becomes Legal, you would be much better served by hunting them in the Daytime...early morning.

3. Feedman

Feedman Cyber-Hunter

May 28, 2003
    In the basement
    I thought you could only hunt coyotes at night during the month of February.

4. cityslicker

cityslicker 8 pointer

Jan 11, 2010
    Hart county
    February through May.

5. Semp

Semp 10 pointer

Feb 4, 2008
    Kaintukee
    You can hunt coyotes at night all year. But only with lights/night vision Feb 1 through May 31. The rest of the year is hunt by moonlight only.

6. woodsman92

woodsman92 6 pointer

Feb 16, 2019
    Russell Co