Mid day hunting

Discussion in 'Varmint Hunting' started by shadow, Feb 3, 2012.

1. shadow

shadow Fawn

Dec 12, 2003
    Morehead, KY.
    How good is mid day hunting for coyotes. I seem to only be able to get out through the middle of the day so I have not tried, afraid to "educate" the local dogs.

2. Jimmie in Ky

Jimmie in Ky 12 pointer

The next few weeks will be good ones for staying out all day. Most females will breed on or about the 15'th of this month. Other than this period you would have to be more certain of where they are during mid day hours. Scout and scout some more, make your best guess and have at it . We hunt when we can and do the best we can with the options we have.

I have called more than one off it's bed over the years and am quite certain I walked right past several of them. You don't know what's going to happen until you try. Jimmie

3. Ruffled

Ruffled Fawn

Jan 7, 2012
    I'm very new to coyote hunting but a couple of weeks ago we called in two about 1130.did not get either . Happy to report that I connected on my first one yesterday about 9 am. Got him with a mouse squeaker and lightn jack-40 yds with 12 ga

4. kycountryboy

kycountryboy 6 pointer

Dec 30, 2008
    columbia,ky
    If you can find there bedding spot and get in there with wind in your favor and very quietly you might have some luck. Just go out about dark and listen you will be able to find out close to where there bedding! Or use a locator about dark.

5. Over the years I have called and killed many coyotes in the middle of the day. IMO the best time for mid day hunting is on very cold and cloudy winter days. On those days I try to hunt all day if I can. February is also a good month to hunt mid days because coyote breeding is in full swing. I have always had good luck with howling during mid day hunts.

6. 30-30

30-30 8 pointer

Aug 26, 2011
    Whats a cold, cloudy winter day? do we have them an ol tucky?

7. 30-30

30-30 8 pointer

Aug 26, 2011