Hunting Taylorsville Lake wma new hunter

Discussion in 'Deer Hunting' started by Naegart89, Jul 27, 2018.

1. Naegart89

Naegart89 Fawn

Nov 5, 2017
    Kentucky
    Just got into hunting last year and no one in my family really hunts so I’ve been learning as I go but will be hunting Taylorsville Lake wma this year with a bow due to it being so close and that I have a 3 year old and 1 year old and it’s tough to get time to make a trip or go to a place farther away

I wanted to see if anyone had any tips on this area or recommendations ive gone up a hand full of times to scout but like I said I’m new to hunting so any help would be appreciated

2. mudhole crossing

mudhole crossing 12 pointer

Aug 20, 2007
    East ky
    Shew. I've been there x2 and have taken 2 bucks and one doe. I never saw a lot of deer but this was several yrs ago on quota hunts. Some pretty woods in there for sure. Saw some huge rubs tho on trees about big as my thigh.

Naegart89 likes this.
  3. Blackdog85

Blackdog85 6 pointer

Oct 28, 2014
    Briar ridge area is huge and holds plenty of deer. They key is getting away from other hunters. Go deeper than everybody else. You'll have plenty of opportunities there.

mac0492, WMAallDAY, BowOnly and 2 others like this.
  4. mudhole crossing

mudhole crossing 12 pointer

Aug 20, 2007
    East ky
    I was let out both times on a boat before daylight. Kinda creepy too. A flock a turkey scared the crap out of me in a pine thicket. One buck I killed I was sitting on the red painted property boundary. I saw him at first light. He ate under a big oak long enough to finally see my cross hairs. After it got daylight there was a house 100 yards away lol. I had never been there before but I was on this side of the property line.

Naegart89 likes this.
  5. Naegart89

Naegart89 Fawn

Nov 5, 2017
    Kentucky
    I appreciate all the responses!

6. Teach Deer

Teach Deer 8 pointer

Aug 4, 2013
    Georgetown