How bad a call can you get away with?

Discussion in 'Turkey Hunting' started by theprofessor, May 8, 2020.

1. theprofessor

theprofessor 6 pointer

Oct 14, 2013
    I’m new to this, and I’m pretty bad at it. I just haven’t seen many birds in the wild, or had the time to practice.

how bad can a guy suck at calling turkey’s before he’s just wasting his time?

Have you heard ridiculous squawks that resulted in dead birds?

Thanks y’all.

Jay Blankenship likes this.
  2. dirtstalker

dirtstalker 12 pointer

Nov 20, 2009
    Clay County
    Depends on the mood the bird is in, in my opinion. Some of the absolute worst calling ive ever heard came from real hens. If a tom isnt in the mood to work, a competition caller wont bring him in. If he is in the mood, you can just about call them in with a kazoo and a whistle.

3. cedar creek

cedar creek 10 pointer

Sep 7, 2014
    Just make very very few sounds, a little goes a long ways

BootsOn27 and Drahts like this.
  4. KY Swamp Beagler

KY Swamp Beagler 12 pointer

Feb 20, 2011
    the swamps of western KY
    In my opinion, for what it’s worth, you’ll kill more turkeys with woodsmanship than with good calling.

I’m a mediocre caller at best, but I spend a lot time in the areas I hunt and I pay attention to the areas turkeys use in the spring.

Also, if you’re dealing with henned up birds you are fighting a losing battle. Wait until later in the day when hens go to nest. Toms get lonely and are more susceptible to being called in.

jacinda, Jack Ryan, BootsOn27 and 5 others like this.
  5. bowhunter269

bowhunter269 12 pointer

Nov 21, 2006
    Fisherville, KY
    This ^^^^^^ ..... and like someone else said, live hens sound nothing like competition callers. If you can make a yelp, your calling is ok.

BootsOn27 likes this.
  6. Grago

Grago 10 pointer

Dec 13, 2016
    I agree, with all the guys, posts above me here, , I wouldnt be afraid to call tho,

7. Dark Cloud

Dark Cloud 12 pointer

Aug 14, 2009
    Lawrence Co.