help me out, i'm a rookie

Discussion in 'Deer Hunting' started by BigBuckTroy, Dec 16, 2014.

1. BigBuckTroy

BigBuckTroy Fawn

Sep 16, 2014
    So i put arrow in a young buck today at 4pm broadside at 25 yards right above his shoulder. I saw it run off 70 yards in an open field wight he arrow stuck in him. I shoot a PSE Rally with a 60lb draw. I thought this was going to be my first bow kill. This is my second year hunting and first year hunting with a bow. I end up searching for blood an hour later after i hit him. I can't find any blood anywhere. I follow where i last saw him last. I found the arrow on the ground after he ran through some thick brush. 20 yards after i found the arrow, i found a tiny bit of blood. the blood trail was only about 30 yards long with little blood drips. Im guess i hit too much bone.The arrow had 6inchs of blood on it. Can anybody help me out with why i didn't find blood till 100 yards later? IMG_0370.jpg

2. bowhunter269

bowhunter269 12 pointer

Nov 21, 2006
    Fisherville, KY
    High hits take a while for the cavity to fill, therefore takes a little time to bleed. Looks like "enough" penetration to get into the lungs if in the right spot.........with no exit hole, blood trail won't be "awesome". I'd go back in the morning, get on hands and knees and try to track......I'd suspect (if not too high) you killed him if you hit where you think. If you didn't jump him, he likely didn't go more than 100 yards after crossing the field........good luck!!

Note: picture appears to show broadhead missing the tip and at least 1 blade.....likely shoulder hit, if what I think I see.

Last edited: Dec 16, 2014
  3. Duster

Duster 12 pointer

Sounds like a shoulder blade hit with the lack of penetration and loss of blood trail.

4. As frustrating as it is, We most all been there. As mentioned above, go back in the morning. Stick with it, don't get discouraged and good luck. Welcome to our world! Keep us posted.

5. BigBuckTroy

BigBuckTroy Fawn