Deer Tag Question

Discussion in 'Deer Hunting' started by N3tT3chMan, Oct 8, 2009.

1. N3tT3chMan

N3tT3chMan Spike

Sep 10, 2009
    Louisville
    I'm new to this and bought my tags but don't know what I'm entitled to shoot... I looked on the web site and it says "Resident Deer Permit - Required to hunt deer. Entitles the holder to two deer." so does that mean I can take two bucks? or does it have to be a buck and a doe?

2. The statewide deer permit allows for the harvest of either an antlered deer (deer with visible polished antler, not a button buck) and one antlerless deer, or two antlerless deer. Depending on the Zone in which you hunt you may harvest an additional two antlerless deer in Zone 2,3, or 4, or an unlimited harvest of antlerless deer in Zone 1. The bonus antlerless permit is a $15 purchase and it includes the harvest of two antlerless deer within that purchase. Hope this helps!

3. EKYHUNTER

EKYHUNTER 6 pointer

Jan 20, 2009
    with ur resident deer tag u have 2 tags.....buck/doe....and doe.....and can buy bonus doe tags.....

4. KyBucks10

KyBucks10 12 pointer

Dec 5, 2008
    Burgin, Kentucky
    sorry im not tracking to hijack your thread, but i have a question regarding tags as well. okay so i have my sportsmans license. with that i get the 2 tags. buck/doe and doe. now hypothetically, i go hunting this weekend and i kill 2 does...is my buck tag gone? should i buy bonus tags before i start wackin 2 does?

by the way, im hunting in zone 1

Last edited: Oct 8, 2009
  5. Buck_Nasty

Buck_Nasty 12 pointer

Sep 23, 2009
    Laurel County
    Not familiar with the sportsmans license guidelines. However, if what your saying is that you get a buck, doe & doe with a sportsmans license and you go out and kill two does, than you should still be able to take a buck. If you take three does, I would assume the third one would eliminate your buck.

But your in a different zone than I am. I'm just responding on what I read in your post.