.243 58 grain hornady v-max, any good for coyote? just bought some, havent tried yet

Discussion in 'Varmint Hunting' started by mossyoak84, Feb 12, 2012.

1. mossyoak84

mossyoak84 Fawn

Feb 10, 2012
    hadley, ky
    i just purchase some of the hornady .243 58 grain v-max for my remington 700, havent got to try them on a yote yet. so i was wondering if anybody has shot these and if they're any good. i've shot them on paper and seem to be very accurate for factory loads but i was wanting to know how they are on dropping animals. i am fairly new to coyote hunting so any advice would be appreciated. i have camo'd my gun and bipod, bought a foxpro wildfire caller and added a few sounds, also bought the mojo critter. anything else i need to make me more successful? i do use dead down wind scent elimination and watch my wind very closely. thanks for any info that might help me

2. CSS archer

CSS archer BBBC Members

Dec 13, 2001
    Central KY
    I shoot reloads, 58 gr vmax in my .243, great load! I rarely have an exit and they rarely take a step...
    Don't waste too much time or money on scent elimination, yotes will smell where you walk and your scent cone. They will nearly always swing downwind coming tgo the call, so put it where you can cover the downwind side.... Good luck!

3. Fox Pro Wildfire is good choice for a caller. Set up the Fox Bang option on it and learn to use that feature.