2 year old beagle help

Discussion in 'Small Game Hunting' started by hodges, Mar 2, 2013.

1. hodges

hodges 6 pointer

Sep 19, 2010
    kentucky
    I'm kinda new with rabbit hunting I got a 2 year old beagle And I was wondering if you could train more on a dog that is 2 years old ik its better to at younger age but can you mine can hunt some needs some work but I was wondering if you bought a 2 year old dog that hadent Been taught to hunt rabbits yet could he be taught? And can y'all give me some tips on teaching mine more?

2. nwest

nwest 12 pointer

I have had beagles all my life. All were great pets but not all of hem had a natural drive to hunt. Not sure if you can but if I were looking for a hunting dog I would at least want to test drive any 2 year old dog I was looking at. They can learn alot of bad tricks in 2 years.

3. bgkyarcher

bgkyarcher 12 pointer

Aug 23, 2011
    BG
    I'd definitely want a test drive solo, and then with a couple other dogs. Don't overwhelm him with a bunch of other dogs. If he's got it in him, he will show solo, and with a couple others.

4. hodges

hodges 6 pointer

Sep 19, 2010
    kentucky
    Alright thanks, but my main question is can a dog at 2years old be trained the same as a pup or once there don that old can you not teach them nutting more

5. bgkyarcher

bgkyarcher 12 pointer

Aug 23, 2011
    BG
    if he's got it in him, 2 years don't matter. might have some habits to break, but if he's got it in him to hunt, you just gotta expose him to as many chases and opportunities as you can. good luck. not much more fun than running beagles. if you're interested, dad bred his good red male to a good red registered female. both very good dogs. should make some great dogs. don't know what the guy is gonna ask for the pups, but the parents are both really good dogs. pups be born in about 5-6 more weeks.

6. Stewart Kennels

Stewart Kennels Fawn

Feb 15, 2013
    Muhlenberg County