Michigan resident looking for info on 2017 KY spring hunt

Discussion in 'Turkey Hunting' started by jem44357, Jan 17, 2017.

1. jem44357

jem44357 Fawn

Apr 12, 2012
    Mi.
    Hi,

My name is Jim I am from Michigan. I have been hunting turkeys here since 1988. I have been very successful here and am looking for something new. I tried to plan a KY hunt in the past and just never made it happen. I am having trouble locating a 2017 spring turkey hunting guide. If anyone has a link it would be much appreciated.
    So far I can tell I need a 2017 annual hunting license and turkey permit... Is this a non application deal and I can just do over the counter/online purchase good state wide for the whole hunt period?
    I have a friend who lives in Louisville so I will be hunting near there on public land... any pointers would be nice. I don't want to know where your "spot" is just a general pointer to public land areas with good populations and harvest numbers.

Thanks for your help
    Jim

2. ril7572

ril7572 Cyber-Hunter

Jul 9, 2003
    Ky..
    jem44357 likes this.
  3. KYH5N1

KYH5N1 10 pointer

Just an fyi, most public ground near Louisville will be crawling with people on weekends and most of the first week. Good Luck.

4. jem44357

jem44357 Fawn

Apr 12, 2012
    Mi.
    ril7572,

Thank you. I had looked at that but had not found the harvest info. After your suggestion I dug a bit deeper and found it I assumed the 2017 was not out yet. Still in planning stage but hoping it will come together this time.

Jim

5. jem44357

jem44357 Fawn

Apr 12, 2012
    Mi.
    KYH5N1,

Thank You. I figured that by the one season structure. Michigan has a lottery system and private land only permits which spreads out the traffic. I normally hunt the last hunt here and focus on the last week or 2 so I will be leaning that way for the Kentucky hunt.

Jim

6. bondhu

bondhu 8 pointer

Jul 3, 2015
    Battle Run