I'm a rookie at hunting coyote's and I need HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Varmint Hunting' started by Steve Quesenberry, Feb 11, 2018.

1. Steve Quesenberry

Steve Quesenberry Fawn

Dec 26, 2017
    Nelson County
    I've been wanting to give coyote hunting a try for a while, back in the fall broke down and ordered Foxpro Inferno. Due to weather, the flu, and other situations I've only been out 2 times. I'm hunting on some farmland south of Hodgenville, Ky. As the Thread title implies I need help. If anyone who has had success hunting coyotes would show me some tips and tricks I would be VERY grateful. More than welcome to hunt on the land I mentioned in LaRue or if not too far away I'd gladly come to you. Any questions please don't hesitate to ask. If I continue to struggle, might just go back to fishing. Thanks everybody!!!!

B.Miller and Gooch like this.
  2. beauhunter41031

beauhunter41031 8 pointer

Jan 1, 2018
    Cynthiana, Ky
    Try pulling up your farm on Google earth that should give you an advantage and remember that wind direction plays a role, also the type,duration and volume of call you play makes a difference I always like the cottontail, I usually don't sit around too long if no Dogs show up within 30 minutes or so I move

3. DH13

DH13 12 pointer

Jan 13, 2012
    Shelby county
    Sit up like beahhunter said. Coyotes will always circle and come in down wind. Trying to smell. I don't hunt them. But like any animal they use their nose.

beauhunter41031 likes this.
  4. linemansteve

linemansteve Fawn

Feb 22, 2011