Duck Pond

Discussion in 'Waterfowl Hunting' started by JPete, Feb 16, 2017.

1. JPete

JPete Fawn

Feb 15, 2017
    Central KY
    Looking for a little help from some of you all that have done this before. It's been so long since I posted on here I couldn't even remember my login.

We are digging a pond in central KY in the Nicholasville area. It's main purpose will be hunting but it will be a fishing pond too so I cant drain it dry to plant. The plan is to dig it with a shallow shelf of 1/2 acre or so that I can plant and flood for ducks. There is plenty of water around to flood it with and will install some kind of water control to raise and lower the water level. You all in west KY are familiar with this stuff I'm sure but you don't see it much around here and I am new to the planting and flooding aspect. Just curious if anybody in central KY has tried this and how it turned out and if you have any suggestions?

Also wondering what would be best to plant in this area. Could do natural vegetation that you could manipulate or crops and leave them standing if I am understanding the laws right.

2. Bee

Bee 8 pointer

Mar 14, 2005
    check your personal messages

3. oddfellow1976

oddfellow1976 6 pointer

Jul 26, 2012
    Your key will be your water control device. Sounds like it would be hard to maintain a fishing pond and a shallow water moist soil unit at the same time. Rain is unpredictable. This isn't as big of a deal if your just going to let natural vegetation come up. There is a method lowering the water at the right time and disturbing the soil to get the most of the natural stuff. If you are planting corn you gotta make sure its dry. Corn seed will rot if its swampy. You may be better off with a two tiered system. Depending on your topography you may want to have your moist soil unit below your pond so that you can keep running water through it like a spring when everything else freezes.

4. JPete

JPete Fawn

Feb 15, 2017
    Central KY