Anyone hunt in DBNF?

Discussion in 'General Hunting' started by Smokin9mm, Jun 26, 2017.

1. Smokin9mm

Smokin9mm 6 pointer

Dec 3, 2014
    Lexington
    I am new to Lexington, KY and this will be my first year deer hunting here. I have some private land that I have access to in Breathitt Co. and also a farm near Danville that I can occasionally hunt, but want to get some info on the public land in DBNF. Does anyone on the forum that hunts there have any info they can give a noob to the area? I heard it's pretty rough terrain but that doesn't bother me. Any decent area within an hour or so drive from Lex? Will be hunting with firearm only as I do not have a bow. Anyone doing any scouting this summer that wouldn't mind someone tagging along? I will get lunch Feel free to PM me if you'd like. Thank you.

2. bondhu

bondhu 8 pointer

Jul 3, 2015
    Battle Run
    If you hunt Breathitt you should have no problem on Daniel.
    Mark some places you like and go check them out. Daniel is the same as scouting Breathitt if you smell cucumbers ease out the way you came. Remember if you think it is a good access spot 50 other people do to. You get double the gratification on WMA's. That Buck has out Foxed 100's of Stan Potts for 4-5 years until you came along! :D

Smokin9mm likes this.
  3. Drewbays

Drewbays Fawn

Nov 29, 2016
    Don't take anything you don't want to loose !!! If you take a quad or whatever make sure that thing is locked down I've had things stolen while hunting down there so just be cautious

Smokin9mm likes this.
  4. Smokin9mm

Smokin9mm 6 pointer

Dec 3, 2014
    Lexington