Gator/Mule versus 4 wheeler

Discussion in 'Community Forum' started by KYHUNTER14, Jan 6, 2011.

1. KYHUNTER14

KYHUNTER14 10 pointer

Oct 17, 2004
    Ashland, KY
    I have a 2wd Honda 4 Wheeler and I am thinking of upgrading to a Gator/Mule type ATV. My concern is that the Gators might not be as safe as 4 wheelers. I have no trouble with the 4 wheeler going up the hills on my farm, but it just looks to me like the Gators would be have a more difficult time. I also worry these are more prone to rollovers than my 4 wheeler. I am a safe driver and am not a "mudder" or "Crawler". I am looking to upgrade because the Gator type vehicles seem more handy for cutting wood, working on fences, etc. What do you guys think? Also, what are the best of the Gator/Mule type vehicles.

Thanks.

2. Buck_Nasty

Buck_Nasty 12 pointer

Sep 23, 2009
    Laurel County
    My old hunting right is a 1999 Honda, 300, 2WD, automatic manual shift (no clutch but shift with foot) and I have never thought about trading up. The 300 Fourtrax is arguably the best ATV Honda ever made in the utility line. Although it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of the new ATV's and doesn't ride or steer as smoothly as the ones with independent suspensions and power steering, but it has never failed to do what I needed it to do. I just see all the ES type stuff on the newer ATV's as something else that can go wrong with time.

As for your situation. Personally I would invest in a nice pull trailer designed for ATV use before I would drop the change on a UTV type off road vehicle. I don't know what type of hills you have on your farm, how wide or congested they are with timber, but if you could make use of a utility trailer, that would be my choice. UTV vehicles are nice, but I just can't see putting that much money into something when I have a reliable, capable ATV right now. As for the gators or mules, I've never had any dealings with them. Only Rhinos and T-Rex UTV's.